Bench of Memories and Dreams

Image

I sat on a bench of memories and longing…
Have I lost my way and stumbled into heaven?
Are my eyes filled with youthful enchantment?
Or am I merely rapt in meandering deception…

I feel behind me his knees pressing gently…
How sweet is his touch, supporting me––as ever,
His arm holds me firmly––as always protective
of some gathering clouds on life’s moot horizon…

But above all else, I am more than ever
convinced that I’m floating on filigree of fairies…
And now I’ll share with you an ambrosial truth:
I draw my enchantment from the fountain of youth!

Poetry by Stan i.S. Law, [Inspired by ON THE BENCH, gesso-duro sculpture (2002)
 by Bozena Happach.

Leave a Reply

